Phishing Scam Hotmail Account Deactivation and Hack

A recent email has been traveling around Hotmail, claiming that the person receiving the email is at risk of losing their account if they do not click an account confirmation link.

This is a scam aimed at stealing the user name, password and account details of that user, and this is then used to send out spam emails or other scams to anyone in that user’s contact list. The email usually contains messages such as: “This e-mail has been sent to you by Hotmail to inform you that your account will be deactivated within the next 24 hours due to several unsuccessful login attemps on your account. To prevent this to happen please login securely to our activation link”.

A link is then provided, and this link leads to a fake login screen. Upon entering user name and password, the user is then redirected to the real login page, and their details are sent to another server. Hackers can then use these details to hack the person’s account, and send out other scams under their name.

This type of scam is not limited to only Hotmail. Very similar scams have been seen around other email services, such as Yahoo and Gmail. Users need to be wary of such emails, and be sure to never click on links that look suspicious.

Post a new Comment

All comments are moderated for off-topic, explicit and offensive content.